18
May
10

The source of all confusion

If you go inside you will reset The Matrix

If you go inside you will reset The Matrix

So after my christmas-day like excitement, “Across the Sea” turned out to be a disappointment of Matrix Reloaded proportions minus the creepy dance scene. Much to my (our) frustration, the writers chose to explain Jacob’s origins with new mysteries, mythologies and rules. There is a golden light on the island that seems to be the source of all the strange things that happen on the island. Somehow Psycho Mom knows all about this source and can use it to prevent Jacob & Smokey from killing each other. She also attempted to use it to make Jacob & Smokey immortal but she must have missed a decimal place because Smokey found a loop hole around that rule. Sure there was no explanation on the origins of Psycho Mom or “the source” but hey, the writers have plenty of time to wrap up those small mysteries…

Do I sound bitter? Well I wanted a Harley but all we got was this Moped. I think the consensus on this episode was that while it was nice to get some backstory on our favorite Island Twins, the episode could have aired at the beginning of this season. Did the writers really think it was a good idea to drop all these new mysteries on us with 2 episodes to go?? I’m getting nervous that the finale is just going to be Jacob answering Hurley’s questions in a Dharma classroom. Maybe Sawyer will convince Jack & Kate to cut class and take out Hurley’s Dharma van for a spin all while catching a ball game with the remaining Others. Smokey will no doubt have to prove that Sawyer is playing hooky and isn’t really sick, while wearing a blindfold because that’s how arbitrary the rules are on this island.

I digress. With 3 LOST hours left, “Across the Sea” didn’t give us enough answers and only provided us with new questions. However, let’s talk about what we did learn:

  • Adam & Eve were Psycho Mom & Smokey! I’m mad at myself for not guessing Psycho Mom after Smokey informed Kate of her existence. Putting the white & black stone at their grave should have also clued me in more
  • Smokey doesn’t age because he lost his body! On the plus side, he can take on the appearance of any dead person on the island. This explains why he can’t be killed with conventional means. Jacob doesn’t age because he drank the wine of youth. I’m assuming Richard Alpert toasted with Jacob’s wine to freeze his age as well
  • Jacob protects the source and he has the ability to set rules. While this explains why Smokey can’t kill the candidates, it doesn’t explain how the source can magically set rules
  • Jacob & Smokey are twins! Did this come as a shock to anyone??

Now onto my new questions/theories:

  • How did Smokey know that installing a wheel at the source could remove him from the island? And why does turning the wheel remove you from the island? I don’t like that they made Smokey “extra special”. I liked the fact that everyones specialness could be explained by a J-Touch. Now it seems as if there is another mysterious player making everything happen
  • On the topic of Smokey being “special” it seems like he has the power to see dead people while Jacob doesn’t. Did Psycho Mom give him that power? Clearly this is why Smokey was surprised that Sawyer & Desmond could see boy-Jacob. Are they are special too??
  • Why did the light go out when Jacob threw Smokey into the source? Does Smokey now hold the source’s power? Is that why his departure from the island would mean the end of man-kind? If Smokey enveloped the “warm light” that would explain why the wheel is now frozen
  • Why did Psycho mom thank Smokey for killing her? Was she looking for a loop hole all this time too? Did she only raise Jacob & Smokey so they would one day kill her?
  • I think the Temple is built on the site where the source was located. Under the Temple seems to be where Smokey “lives” and it would make sense that people would worship the area.
  • Does Smokey have a name? I think he’s more menacing without one. Sort of how people would’t say Voldemort’s name

So where do we go from here? Somehow the two timelines must merge and a candidate must be picked. Smokey also has to regroup because it’s going to be much harder to kill the candidates now that they understand the rules. Since Hurley is playing the part of Whoopee in this ghost-story it only makes sense that he will pass on the wine of life to Jacob’s successor who I believe will be Jack. I don’t have a clue what this has to do with the alternate timeline but it’s interesting that Smokey possesses the source and Juliet nuked part of the source. I’m beginning to think the alternate timeline is Smokey’s version of The Matrix, although I don’t know what his motive is (how many Matrix references can go in one blog?)

Well that’s all for this week, I’m excited about tomorrow’s episode if for no other reason than it can’t be more disappointing than “Across the Sea.

4 Responses to “The source of all confusion”


  1. 1 Franny
    May 18, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    You know who was in the Matrix? Your favorite D.A.D. You gotta be able to give us some WAAAAAAAAALT Matrix conversion.

    I like your story for the finale, if i dont like the actual finale then this is what I will pretend happened. Of course, Jack will spill his beer on Sawyer at the ball game so he has to be shirtless. I can make rules too.

    • May 23, 2010 at 10:15 am

      I keep forgetting Dumbass was in the Matrix. I hate him there too! Sawyer being shirtless would be much better than dying which I think is going to happen 😦

  2. 3 Dustin
    May 20, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    I don’t think the flash-sideways is MIB’s matrix but it could be Jacob’s matrix. Do think that the castaways could possibly get uploaded there when they die or defeat MIB? I mean none of these people can go home. Thay’ve crashed 2 planes. If I’m the FBI, I’ve got a lot of questions for these guys if I ever see them again.

    Also, when Juliet died earlier this year, Miles said that her last words from beyond the grave were “It worked”. All she wanted was to blow up that nuke so that she wouldn’t have to deal with the pain of losing Sawyer. I think she’s Jack’s ex-wife in flash sideways.

    • May 23, 2010 at 10:16 am

      Tru dat, they need to investigate the potential fraud going on here. I’m with your Juliet prediction, I believe she’s the only main character we haven’t seen in Alt X


Leave a Reply

ABOUT THIS BLOG

I have always had a difficult time waiting to find out the ending of my favorite movies, TV shows & books. My resume of obsession includes watching Season 1 of 24 in 3 days, watching Season 2 of 24 in 18 hours and reading each Harry Potter book in one sitting. Knowing that I would love and become obsessed with Lost, I decided to wait before the last season to begin watching it.

This blog will follow me as I watch 5 seasons (103 episodes) of Lost before the final season begins. Relive the experience through me and feel free to mock my terrible theories. Please do not post any spoilers!

Feel free to email me at bigggs@bigwheelbikergang.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

NEW POLL

Finally Lost Every episode for the first time Television Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory

blog search directory

CURRENTLY WATCHING

Visits

  • 30,094 already got lost

Categories


