25
Feb
10

Aww he’s got his daddy’s cries!

It's my dad's funeral and I'll cry if I want to..
Full disclosure, my TV Forecast widget lists when all my shows are going to be new and what the title of the show will be. So last week I kept asking myself, Lighthouse?? There’s not a lighthouse on the island… it must be an off-island reference. WRONG. Not only is there a Lighthouse on the island but it’s less than a days walk from the temple. “Dude, I guess we never really looked for it.” Oh yea Hurley?? Ok professor, do you also care to explain how everyone is bouncing from one side of the island  to the other in less than 15-show-minutes when those same journeys took 4 episodes in season 1! I digress. There is a lighthouse on the island where the degrees correspond to candidates and it allows Jacob to play peeping Tom on just about anyone. Any thoughts on why it showed Jack’s house from when he was 8? I thought for sure it was going time show Timeline X…

Now onto Daddy Jack. Not Christian (I’m going to have to come up with a new nickname for him now) but Crying Jack is a dad! Clearly setting off a nuke in 1977 can setoff a chain of events where Jack knocks up some yet-to-be-named chippie and causes his appendix to burst at age 7 or 8. Interestingly enough Jack would have been about 7 or 8 around 1977…maybe the explosion ruptured his appendix!?!? Despite his initial shortcomings as a father, I was really rooting for Jack to repair his relationship with his son. Rooting for Jack isn’t something I’ve done since season 3 and it’s something I thought I could never do after he caused Juliet’s death. Amazing how the writers own my emotions….

As interesting as the differences are between Timeline Prime and Timeline X, I think the most interesting fact is that the majority of the Losties are happier in Timeline X. Hurley is clearly  happier, Locke has Helen and has accepted his benched fate (also being alive is better than being dead), Jack has a son and despite crying just as much, seems to be a little better off, Prego (Claire) is going to keep her baby and I bet if you took a poll of most folks on Oceanic Flight 815 they would prefer to life over island death. I’m not going to judge anyone who hasn’t had a centric episode but I will concede Kate is worse off and I’m sad that Rose will likely die.

Speaking of the centric episodes, have most people picked up on the fact that we are following the same character centric-order as the season 1? I completely forgot that Jack got a second centric episode so early on and thought that this week would be all about Sun. Woops. I’ve posted the season 1 order and my guesses for the season 6 order. I have listed candidate replaces for those centric episodes that seem really unlikely to occur (Charlie, Boone, I’m looking at you).

Episode Season 1 Season 6
Pilot (1/2) Jack/Charlie Various
3 Kate Kate
4 Locke Locke
5 Jack Jack
6 Sun ?Sun?
7 Charlie ?Ben?
8 Sawyer ?Sawyer?
9 Sayid ?Sayid?
10 Claire ?Claire?
11 Jack ?Jack?
12 Kate ?Kate?
13 Boone ?Richard!?
14 Michael & WAAAALT ?Jacob?
15 Charlie ?Smokey?
16/17 Sawyer/Jin ?Various?

And a few quick hits:

  • My Lost viewing buddy, Franny, described me as positively “giddy” when Jack and his son were tearing up at the same time. If only Christian was there to complete the trifecta, although he doesn’t really strike me as a crier.
  • I believe the most popular theory is that Juliet is Jack’s baby’s father??
  • Is it just me or does Jacob seem way more smug now that he’s dead? I’m sure the writers don’t want to give away who’s bad and who’s good but I liked Jacob more last season.
  • Both Jacob & Smokey lied and manipulated people this week. Jacob lied to Hurley about the lighthouse and Smokey’s been lying to Prego about Aaron living with The Others. Smokey’s lie is definitely bigger, which makes me still think he’s the baddie, HOWEVER, given all that has changed in Timeline X, it’s clear that Jacob has been pulling Michael Corleone-like strings. If I’m right about Timeline X being the happier place for our Losties, then maybe Jacob is the baddie after all…
  • I wonder how different Sawyer’s life will be if he never wrote that letter to Sawyer
  • Since Dogen was at David’s piano tryout I guess I was wrong about him being captain of The Black Rock. Come on, dude looks like a captain of a ship called The Black Rock!
  • I guess Prego doesn’t know that Christian & “her friend” are the same person? P.S. Did she shop at Russo-R-Us for her trap and camp gear?

Next up on Finally Lost, I’ll post my answers to this week’s Stream of Consciousness Q/A (Who will be the next Jacob and Who/what is Richard Alpert) along with my favorite answer from another blogger. I’d also like to finish my island org chart and explore the Timeline X changes a bit more…

p.s. While I try to limit the number of theory blogs I read in order to keep this blog as theory-independent as possible, I am undoubtably influenced by the Wednesday morning quarterbacking I do with some of my Lost friends. This is my once and future shout out to Franny, Brian and anyone else who may have influenced my thoughts which resulted in me posting it as a theory or thought. The humor, however, is all mine 😛

3 Responses to “Aww he’s got his daddy’s cries!”


  1. 1 franny
    February 25, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    Russo’s R’ Us, hahaha, that was a good one. For everyone else out there, here’s a little great inside joke between the producers and us die-hards….clip from Comic Con that subtly tied into this weeks episode: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9LXDrUV-8PE (about the 1:30 mark)

  2. February 26, 2010 at 7:24 am

    I’m guessing you’ve already seen the episode title for next week on your TV Forecast Widget…however, I’m sorry to tell you that based solely on information released by ABC and the producers (no true Spoiler-INT), this week’s episode will *NOT* mirror the season 1 pattern of character centric episodes.

    >> My Lost viewing buddy, Franny, described me as positively “giddy” when Jack and his son were tearing up at the same time.

    LOL, i love your comments on “Crying Jack”. When you were watching seasons 1-5 in a marathon, I should have asked you to count all the times a characters cries or tears up. I gotta believe Jack has like 2 or 3x anyone else. Who would even be in 2nd place?

    >> I believe the most popular theory is that Juliet is Jack’s baby’s father??

    That’s what I’m sticking with for the moment. In the original time line Jack didn’t meet Sarah until 2001, although maybe he meets her much earlier in this time line? How great would it be if Jack’s baby momma is Juliet, but yet she goes on a date with Sawyer in Timeline X?

    >> I wonder how different Sawyer’s life will be if he never wrote that letter to Sawyer

    We may find out. Does anyone want to bet on if that happened in Timeline X?

    • February 26, 2010 at 9:22 am

      WRT the title name then I guess I *think* I know who it will be BUT then we break the pattern where we were bouncing between the folks at Temple and the folks on AA316.

      I watched the pilot for season 1 last night and was struck at how much I liked Jack and the character assassination that was performed on him. He was really decisive and a leader at first. After people starting dying he lost his cool…


Leave a Reply

ABOUT THIS BLOG

I have always had a difficult time waiting to find out the ending of my favorite movies, TV shows & books. My resume of obsession includes watching Season 1 of 24 in 3 days, watching Season 2 of 24 in 18 hours and reading each Harry Potter book in one sitting. Knowing that I would love and become obsessed with Lost, I decided to wait before the last season to begin watching it.

This blog will follow me as I watch 5 seasons (103 episodes) of Lost before the final season begins. Relive the experience through me and feel free to mock my terrible theories. Please do not post any spoilers!

Feel free to email me at bigggs@bigwheelbikergang.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

NEW POLL

Finally Lost Every episode for the first time Television Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory

blog search directory

CURRENTLY WATCHING

Visits

  • 30,094 already got lost

Categories


