14
Dec
09

We have to go back (Season 4 recap)

The Spoiler Free Season 5

The Spoiler Free Season 5

As promised here are the poll results, my Season 4 prediction results, the list of my favorite season 4 episodes and of course my new Lost Season 5 predictions. All in all Lost Season 4 was another great season. People keep asking me which season is my favorite and I keep telling them it’s too difficult to differentiate between all the different seasons (too many at once). Gun to my head I would say Lost Season 3 is my favorite and the worst part of Lost Season 4 was that it was so short due to the strike. I am very aware that the episodes I have left are quickly running out and I have been trying to watch them at a slower pace because I don’t want them to end.

Now for the poll results: 50-50, we had a tie! Much like the Losties, half of you would have followed Locke into the woods to your eventual death (unless you think of yourself as Sawyer, Hurley or Prego) while the other half of you would be safe at the beach. The ironic thing is that Locke was right but he led his people right into danger, while Jack was wrong (*cough* as usual) but kept most of his people safe (except for those who were blown up on the freighter). I think this teaches us to follow the leader who is more concerned with your safety than the safety of a mysterious island that often demands sacrifices.

And now for the Season 4 results, I think I did pretty good:

The Jack Shepard school of predictions (WRONG):

  • The 4th season will be all about the island. Why it’s so magical and how it got its properties. What the hell was I thinking?? I’m starting to believe we won’t ever learn this
  • In the future flash Kate is returning home to someone we haven’t met yet. Some big bad rich guy type. Who else could have gotten her out of all her legal troubles,  Maybe Mr. Widmore?? Arg! Of course Jack’s plan got her out of trouble and she was going home to Aaron. Really missed the mark on that one

The John Locke school of predictions (CHECK):

  • Locke is in the coffin. Nailed it! I lose some points for waffling all season and saying it might be Other Ben after all.
  • Time travel is going to be huge. This was a better prediction when I made it in season 3, than when I reiterated right before season 4. There also seems to be more of a space/time thing going on so I don’t know if that affects the purity of this prediction.
  • The survivors will leave the island at the cliff hanger of season 4. Other Ben isn’t lying, the bad guys are coming. I think both of these were pretty obvious but I’ll take credit none-the-less.

The Ben Linus school of grey predictions (Half credit):

  • The big 5 (Jack, Sawyer, Kate, Locke & Sayid) will not die this season and I believe all 5 will make it to season 6 (I think the coffin future is avoidable). I also think that there is NO WAY Prego (Claire) or Hurley can die. The writers won’t kill the most beloved happy-go-lucky character and they won’t kill a single mom and leave devil baby (Aaron) an orphan. Wow this prediction came out interesting. The coffin future does not appear to be avoidable and I don’t know if Locke’s death counts as a Season 4 death or not. Thoughts? The writers did in fact have Claire abandon her baby but it remains to be seen if she’s dead. I was tempted to put this in wrong category but may be I’ll revisit this prediction at the next season recap.
  • Jin dies. I didn’t take credit for this because I’m in denial and still hoping I’m wrong. I’m in danger of being optimistic to the point of foolishness at this juncture…

In a new feature I thought I’d list my top 3 favorite episodes of season 4:

  1. Ji Leon. I don’t think this is a surprise to anyone. So well written, didn’t see the flashback and the flash forward coming and it prompted the great Jin debate.
  2. The Constant. Again this shouldn’t be a shock because I like Desmond and Penny so much but I also really like how they dealt with time travel in this episode. This is the beginning of our understanding of how Lost will deal with time travel and so far, very cool
  3. The Shape of Things to Come. Slingshot’s death and some real moments with Other Ben. As a rule Other Ben flashbacks are awesome.

Least favorite episode: Meet Kevin Johnson. 1) it was about my least favorite character and 2) for an episode that was supposed to cover the large topic of “What happened to Michael & Walt since season 2?” we got very few surprises and boring answers.

Last but not least my Lost Season 5 predictions:

  • Lt. Daniels (Matt) kills/killed Locke.
  • The physicist and the people on the boat somehow end up back on the island
  • The Losties and the Others team up to become one big tribe, but then break up in a civil war (Others/Losties war is the bad thing that happened because Jack left)
  • Ghostbuster (Miles) & Prego die this season
  • Peter Pan (Richard) is as old as the island
  • Aliens built the island (we might not learn this until season 6 though)
  • Other Ben is trying to get the O6 back on the island so he can find Penny
  • 3 years will not pass for the people on the island like it does for the O6. If we are dealing with time and space, then moving the island (space) means moving time.
  • Jin is alive! (I had to..)

Well there they are, the fearless Lost Season 5 predictions.

Next up on Finally Lost, it’s time to stop predicting and time to start watching…

p.s. Shout out to my boy Johnny Cavs for lending me Season 5 and taking the time to put paper over all the pictures that might be spoilers. That’s hardcore. So far I haven’t been really spoiled yet…

7 Responses to “We have to go back (Season 4 recap)”


  1. 1 franny
    December 14, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    so hard to comment at this point. looking forward to the discussions we can have soon once you catch up.
    I agree with you on Kevin Johnson, that episode did nothing for me. I wonder how different the Walt story line might have been if they had been able to cast an actor who had peter pan syndrome and wouldn’t hit puberty by season 2. Poor walt is stuck doing Tyson Anytizer commercials now.

  2. December 14, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    I agree that there was actually less time travel in season 4, and more stuff messing w/ space/time continuum (like Desmond’s consciousness going back and forth)…

    Couldn’t agree more with your choices for best episodes of season 4

    I would say Locke does not count as a season 4 death

    Who is “Lt. Daniels (Matt)”? Not sure who you mean here?

  3. 7 Matthieu
    December 14, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    looking forward the final season!!

    there’s a poll about the 09 tv show, vote for lost! anyone can vote!

    http://smokintops.com/tops/view/best_of_09_top_tv_series


Leave a Reply

ABOUT THIS BLOG

I have always had a difficult time waiting to find out the ending of my favorite movies, TV shows & books. My resume of obsession includes watching Season 1 of 24 in 3 days, watching Season 2 of 24 in 18 hours and reading each Harry Potter book in one sitting. Knowing that I would love and become obsessed with Lost, I decided to wait before the last season to begin watching it.

This blog will follow me as I watch 5 seasons (103 episodes) of Lost before the final season begins. Relive the experience through me and feel free to mock my terrible theories. Please do not post any spoilers!

Feel free to email me at bigggs@bigwheelbikergang.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

NEW POLL

Finally Lost Every episode for the first time Television Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory

blog search directory

CURRENTLY WATCHING

Visits

  • 29,820 already got lost

Categories


