10
Dec
09

Back to the Future

I'll be your constant brother

Completed: 4-3 The Economist, 4-4 Eggtown, 4-5 The Constant. 26 episodes left, 54 days to go. As you know, I don’t know anything that is to come and like the survivors I am completely lost.

One right, and a few wrong. I predicted that time flows differently on the island (check) but I thought Sayid & Devil Baby (Aaron) would stay on the island (wrong). For partial credit I said that the man Kate had to get back to was a powerful man that got her out of prison. Well one could argue that Aaron was a big reason she got off…

On to the recap: We start with a Sayid flash forward and learn he is a hit man that is whackin people with connections to Oceanic Flight 815. We then watch Sayid seduce a woman (Elsa) whose boss is an “economist” in order to get close to him and presumably whack him, but the tables are turned when she shoots him after he warns her to leave the city. This being Sayid, he eventually gets the upper hand, kills her and goes off to find his doctor/boss to fix him up. Oh by the way his boss is Other Ben! In real time Sayid hostage swaps the Ghostbuster (Miles) for Indiana (archeologist name?) so he and Desmond can helicopter back to the boat. Next, Kate gets a flash forward and we watch pre-bearded Jack lie under oath and say that Kate pulled most of the 8 survivors out of the water and onto the beach. Kate’s dying mom shows up and decides not to testify for the fee of seeing her new grandchild. Kate denies this request but her mom still declines to testify and the case against Kate falls apart. Kate is given 10 years probation and is restricted to travel in the state (I’m not sure what state they are in). Back in real time Kate brings the Ghostbuster to see Other Ben while Sawyer runs Locke interference. The Ghostbuster tells Other Ben he will tell his employer that Other Ben is dead for $3.2M Euro and Kate gets banished from Camp Locke for this ruse. Back at Camp Jack there is concern because no one has heard from the helicopter in over a day and the trip should have only taken 20 minutes. They survivors haven’t been told that time flows differently on the island and if you recently had exposer to electromagnetism there could be some side effects. We then watch a disoriented Desmond jump back and forth between present time and 1996 while he tries to follow 1996-Daniel’s advice, which is to communicate with a constant in both times: Penny! In 1996, Desmond pleads with Penny to keep her number until christmas eve of 2004 when he will call her. Once Sayid fixes the communication equipment he talks to Penny and he is fixed like brand new.

There was so much going on in these episodes that I can’t cover them all, however, I will bullet what I think are important notes so I don’t totally ignore them:

  • When Sayid looks at Naomi’s bracelet it looks very much like the one Elsa is wearing when she dies. This probably means R.C. is the economist and might be the main bad guy. Who is R.C.??
  • I would have thought the first thing Sayid would do after he left the island is find Nadia. Maybe Other Ben was referring to her when he made reference to how the people on the list hurt those closest to him
  • The payload shot from the ship to the island was the first conclusive proof of how time flows differently on the island
  • Mr. Widmore bought the diary of the captain of the Black Rock, very interesting…
  • Why even bother to say there were 2 plane crash survivor’s that died on the island? Does that really make the story more believable?
  • Kate isn’t allowed to leave the state? That’s a very interesting demand. If she goes back to the island she could end up in jail and if they rescue the rest of the survivors Jack could end up in jail for perjury

Now the big stuff. Why did Kate take Devil Baby off the island? I doubt it was by force. Either Prego (Claire) dies or she wanted Kate to give her baby a non-island life. This begs the bigger question: why did the 6 who got off the island lie about everything?? I can understand why they made up the story of Kate’s heroics but why did they decide to leave everyone else on the island? If they were forced into it then what sort of deal did they make? I’m guessing that one by one, the 6 are going to decide they have to go back to the island and that’s how season 6 is going to start (LA X). Do all of the 6 know Other Ben is not on the island? It doesn’t seem likely because you would think Jack would use him to get back to the island…unless he’s in the coffin! Other Ben clearly has the necessary skills and passports to pose as someone from Oceanic Flight 815!

Time travel! Check! Is it just me or does a sci-fi time travel theme all of the sudden seem so out of place on this show? You have such normal everyday people like Sun, Jin and Sawyer and then you throw time travel into the island waters and everything seems off. Somehow I don’t see Prego & Rose sitting around the camp fire discussing electromagnetism and how the island-time flows compared to the rest of the world. The big question if course is can the future be changed? Every sci-fi movie/TV show that deals with time travel must answer this question before creating their time rules. I don’t know what the answer for Lost is but I suspect the future can be changed because Desmond kept saving Charlie and he got Penny to keep her number for 8 years. The physicist didn’t seem to recognize Desmond right away but he of course he could have been acting. This time traveling business will no doubt get more confusing before it becomes more clear…

Next up on Finally Lost…maybe we’ll find out who the 6th survivor was!

p.s. Hurley and Sawyer as roommates, pure gold! It’s like the writers are reading my mind!

13 Responses to “Back to the Future”


  1. December 10, 2009 at 10:14 am

    “The Constant” is one of those truly great Lost episodes (IMO), and most Lost fans put it up there with episodes like “Walkabout”, “Through the Looking Glass”, “Live Together Die Alone”, etc…

    Your time travel prediction a season or so ago was excellent…I know you said that it “seems out of place”, but I think they actually handle it very well within the context of the show/island.

    As you said, you know 5 of the 6 oceanic 6 (Jack, Kate, Hurley, Sayid, Aaron) at this point…any prediction on the 6th before your next set of episodes???

    Since it looks like it will be in your next batch of episodes, let me say in advance that i’m looking forward to your reaction to episode 4-8 “Meet Kevin Johnson”…you also have “Ji Yeon” coming up, which is to my recollection a beautifully executed episode…

    I forgot how short this season was…only 13 episodes…you’ll be done in no time. Fortunately, Season 5 was released on Tuesday, so you shouldn’t have any gaps in your marathon…

    • 2 franny
      December 10, 2009 at 12:07 pm

      Ben – I’m interested to know at this point, what are your top 5 episodes?

      • December 10, 2009 at 2:38 pm

        @Brian, per my season 4 predictions, I think Sun is the 6th person although it brings up some questions about who is in the coffin. Made the coffin represents one of the 2 people that are dead.

        I watched 4-6 last night (juliet’s flashback) so I’ll get to Ji Yeon tonight and poss 4-8. I’m trying to slow down my viewing because there are so few episodes left and I want to savor every episode.

        @Franny, I’ve been wanting to do a top 5 episodes and have been waiting on this one. I think I’m going to do this after I finish so I can open it up to people’s comments. Brian hit on some of my favs minus The Long Con.

  2. 4 franny
    December 10, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    “This time traveling business will no doubt get more confusing before it becomes more clear…”

    Your most accurate prediction yet 🙂

  3. 6 Shay
    December 10, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    It’s nice reading your summaries because there are a lot of little things that I’d forgotten about. Nice to have a little re-cap!

    Like Brian, I’m also excited to see your reactions to those two episodes. “Ji Yeon” was put together wonderfully and “Meet Kevin Johnson” was just… interesting.

    Also, the archaeologist’s name is Charlotte. She’s a pretty neat character. Though, out of the characters who you’ve recently been introduced to, Miles and Dan (Ghostbuster and the physicist) are my favorites.

  4. 7 Carla
    December 10, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    “The Constant” was my favorite episode as a whole so far. And I agree with the others that “Ji Yeon” was a really good episode by the way it was put together. I really liked Season 4 and I’m interested to see your take on things in regards to Season 5. I’m looking forward to reliving those episodes again through your blog.

  5. 8 Dylan
    December 11, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    I would just like to point out that you jumped the gun a little with your suggestion that time flows differently on the Island based on Daniel’s experiment. I would explain why, but I don’t want to spoil anything for you.

    • December 12, 2009 at 8:27 pm

      Doh! There I go jumping the gun again. I may have jumped it with Kate & Sawyer too now that I’ve seen “Something Nice Back Home”

      • 10 Dylan
        December 13, 2009 at 11:21 am

        Well since you’ve now seen Doc Ray’s body wash up on shore, I can explain why there isn’t an actual difference in the flow of time on the Island.

        We have three examples, which prove that the problem isn’t with time on the Island, rather it’s the space in between on and off Island.

        1) We have Daniel’s rocket being shifted ahead in time about half an hour coming to the Island.
        2) We have Desmond, Frank and Sayid also being shifted forward in time about a day and a half when they leave the Island. The trip for them is only 20 minutes, but to an outside observer, like the Losties and the freighter crew, they appeared to be “missing” for a day and a half.
        3) We have Doc Ray’s body washing up on shore before he’s ever killed. Meaning his body was shifted backwards in time while coming to the Island.

        If there were a difference in the flow of time, the effects should be consitant for objects coming to the Island, but since we saw two opposite effects with 1 and 3(objects coming to the Island) and 1 and 2 have the same effect, this leads us to conclude that there is an area of temporal flux(more accurately if you don’t pass through the wormhole at exactly the right trajectory you’re subject to shifting backwards or forwards in time). And the effects are apparently more or less random.

        You may not need this explanation anymore, but I think it’s a good idea to provide whatever information I can, whenever I can.

  6. December 23, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    Hmmm, I thought you would have made a bigger deal about The Constant. Oh well.


Leave a Reply

ABOUT THIS BLOG

I have always had a difficult time waiting to find out the ending of my favorite movies, TV shows & books. My resume of obsession includes watching Season 1 of 24 in 3 days, watching Season 2 of 24 in 18 hours and reading each Harry Potter book in one sitting. Knowing that I would love and become obsessed with Lost, I decided to wait before the last season to begin watching it.

This blog will follow me as I watch 5 seasons (103 episodes) of Lost before the final season begins. Relive the experience through me and feel free to mock my terrible theories. Please do not post any spoilers!

Feel free to email me at bigggs@bigwheelbikergang.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

NEW POLL

Finally Lost Every episode for the first time Television Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory

blog search directory

CURRENTLY WATCHING

Visits

  • 29,820 already got lost

Categories


