06
Dec
09

A con man goes by many names friend

Definitely not dead

Completed: 3-16 One of Us, 3-17 Catch-22, 3-18 D.O.C., 3-19 The Brig, 3-20 The Man Behind The Curtain.  34 episodes left, 58 days to go. As you know I don’t know anything about this series except that I’ve seen previews that suggest that the survivors get off the island at some point.

So much happened in these 5 episodes and I’ll try to get to it all. Recap: We learn that the Ice Princess (Juliet) was recruited to figure out why mothers who get pregnant on magic island die during their 2nd trimester while Other Ben used her sister’s remergent cancer as leverage to keep her on the island. We also learn that the Ice Princess is really a mole and activates Prego’s (Claire) implant to make her sick so Ice P can gain the survivor’s trust by curing her. Elsewhere after Desmond sees a future-flash, he leads Hurley, Jin & the Hobbit (Charlie) to find a helicopter crash survivor and with the help of Patch Adams (the russian Other) he returns her back to health. The conveniently hidden ultra-sound machine reveals that it was Jin who knocked up Sun and the Ice Princess explains that the sperm count of males on magic island is 4-5 times higher than on normal deserted islands. Locke returns to find Sawyer and brings him to the Black Rock so he can kill Daddy Locke for him because it turns out Daddy Locke is con man Sawyer! After revealing to Sawyer that Ice Princess is a mole, Locke returns to the Others with the body of Dead Daddy Locke and proclaims he and Other Ben are going to see Jacob. Locke hears a voice that says “Help me” but believes Jacob is a figment of Other Ben’s imagination and after an argument, Other Ben shoots Locke and leaves him for dead in a pit filled with deceased Dharma workers that Other Ben had betrayed years before. Back at Camp Survivor, Sawyer reveals that the Ice Princess is a mole but Jack says he already knows and they are trying to come up with a plan to counter the coming Other attack.

I think I know what’s going on with the Others now. The original Others are native to the island and put great value on anyone that can communicate with the island; they call these people “special”. For whatever reason they got into a long war with the Dharma folks and finally exterminated them with Other Ben’s help. Other Ben likely rose to the tops of the Others food chain because he was very special as demonstrated by his ability to see his dead mother (this must mean Jack & Mr. Eko are special too). The Others serve this Jacob fellow and would probably be content to live on the island except they can’t reproduce because mothers that conceive on the island die during pregnancy, so they need to kidnap kids and perform tests on pregnant moms. When the plane crashed Other Ben wanted a list of 4 names, this was either a list of 4 special people or potential knocked up ladies. To serve knocked-up ladies soup (a magic island specialty) simply add horny men with abnormally high sperm count with mediocre to hott -looking women on a deserted island place setting. I always wondered why The Others let Kate & Sawyer “get stuck in a net” while imprisoned in the cages but they must have wanted Kate to get prego’d. It also must be one of the reasons The Others didn’t want to help the survivors of oceanic flight 815 get off the island.

Now that we have The Others solved there are a few other topics that need to be looked at. Daddy Locke is Sawyer!! I received comments from a friend about something that was starring me in the face since season 1! I should have guessed this since his favorite character is Locke. Great plan by Locke to use Sawyer to kill his dad…How do The Others have some great info on all the survivors?? Someone is definitely pulling the strings…I like that Locke told Sawyer he is on his own path and I believe him. Locke only cares about the island, he’s not with The Others nor the survivors. It was also great to see Locke manipulate Other Ben into taking him to see Jacob. At first I was inclined to agree with Locke that Jacob is made up but now I think he is real. I don’t however,  know why Jacob needs help from Locke.

Then there was Other Ben’s flashback. I could write a whole blog just on that. He was NOT born on the island! His mother died giving birth to him 2 months premature and his father was none-other-than Roger the Workman, supplier of the beer & truck fun! Young Ben was recruited to betray his Dharma brethren by hasn’t aged a day Richard. I would attribute this a magical island property but Other Ben and SlingShot (Frenchy’s (Danielle) daughter) have clearly aged. After I finished season 2 I was given a link by a friend to a synopsis of the Lost Experience game that took place during the season 2/3 summer break. The synopsis explained what the numbers were and referenced Dharma’s work on life extension so I wonder if that’s what’s going on here.

Then there is Penny. With enough money and determination you can find anyone! Penny recruited Bi-lingual chick (Naomi) to track down Desmond but her helicopter crashed as she got close to the island. I don’t know why her helicopter failed because clearly some electronic equipment works on the island. Maybe the hatch blowing up changed the dynamic or maybe it’s only planes & ships that go bomb which is why The Others use a submarine. In either case Bi-ling revealed that the world found the wreckage of 815 and all bodies were accounted for. Dun dun dun. I think this is the CEO’s work and he wants these people with all these connections on the island. How he got them there all at the same time is beyond me.

Finally a few quick hits to keep this entry from going on forever:
– I love Sun flashbacks and it was heartbreaking to find out either she was going to die or the baby wasn’t going to be Jin’s. I’m glad it’s Jin’s baby.
– I don’t think Locke’s dead, he will Wolverine heal. I would like to go back through the episodes and see how many hints there are to the wolverine-like healing speed on the island. Makes me wonder why Boone & the marshal died.
–  The survivors don’t trust Jack anymore but I think he’s still trust worthy. The Ice Princess on the otherhand is a snake and I wouldn’t trust her. She’ll do anything to get off the island and I think she believes using Sun as a lab rat will be her ticket.
– Sayid, fix that satellite phone before The Others get it!
– Desmond almost sacrificed the Hobbit to find Penny. A ballzy move my friend.
– Deaths: The Hobbit won’t make it to season 4 and neither will Other Tom.

Next up on Finally Lost…I’ll finish Season 3! I hear that the last 15 seconds are a mind blower.

2 Responses to “A con man goes by many names friend”


  1. December 23, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    Tom? How did you figure that one out?


Leave a Reply

ABOUT THIS BLOG

I have always had a difficult time waiting to find out the ending of my favorite movies, TV shows & books. My resume of obsession includes watching Season 1 of 24 in 3 days, watching Season 2 of 24 in 18 hours and reading each Harry Potter book in one sitting. Knowing that I would love and become obsessed with Lost, I decided to wait before the last season to begin watching it.

This blog will follow me as I watch 5 seasons (103 episodes) of Lost before the final season begins. Relive the experience through me and feel free to mock my terrible theories. Please do not post any spoilers!

Feel free to email me at bigggs@bigwheelbikergang.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

NEW POLL

Finally Lost Every episode for the first time Television Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory

blog search directory

CURRENTLY WATCHING

Visits

  • 29,820 already got lost

Categories


