04
Dec
09

Daddy Said Stay Away From Juliet

Daddy said stay away from Juliet

Completed: 3-5 The Cost of Living, 3-6 I Do, & 3-7 Not in Portland. 47 episodes left, 61 days to go. As you know I don’t know anything about this series except that I’ve seen previews that suggest that the survivors gets off the island at some point.

After being wrong about the invisible dino, the aliens, no main characters dying, Ethan hitting Sayid over the head with the stick, and no main characters dying (again), I’m on a winning streak. The Others kidnap Jack to operate on Other Ben’s tumor, check. Mr. Eko is the next character to die, check check. Kate picks Sawyer over Jack, check check check. Enough with the semi-gloating and onto the recap: Mr. Eko wakes up from his polar bear induced coma to follow his imaginary brother to the Nigerian crash site. He is followed by Locke, the hobbit (Charlie), Desmond, some new smoking hott chick and her boyfriend or husband or brother (after Boone and Sticks I’m not taking any chances). Sadly the rescue team is too late to save Mr. Eko from the black smoke killer thing and he uses his last breath to tell the others that they are next. Meanwhile Kate and Sawyer get it on in their cages and Jack uses his brains for once and forces The Others to Let Kate and Sawyer go free in return for fixing up Other Ben’s sabotaged kidney.

So we finally got our first Ice Princess (Juliet) flashback and we learn that she once a normal gal who used experimental injections to impregnate her cancer diagnosed sister while trapped under the thumb of her manipulative ex-husband until The Others ran over her ex-husband with a bus and conned her into going to “Portland” with them. All of this begs the question…why do The Others stay on the island? I still think they believe they are doing noble research under the leadership of CEO guy. Also if The Others have such great intelligence and science capability then why did Other Ben need Jack to do his surgery. One of The Others said they haven’t been able to communicate outside the island since the sky turned purple (hatch blewup) so that combined with Other Ben’s view that fate sent him a surgeon is probably the reason for this. I also wonder about the obvious…instead of kidnapping Jack, why not say, “Hey I’m getting you guys all off the island, could you maybe wait and take the next boat out and do some back surgery on me in the meantime?” Now while I commend Jack for finally having a great plan to rescue Sawyer & Kate, I berate him for not asking ANY QUESTIONS! The plot also thickens because the Ice Princess asks Jack to kill Other Ben via silent TV. Is this another ploy to gain Jack’s trust, or does she really want off the island that badly? I think the Ice Princess wants Other Ben dead. Assuming that’s true, why does she tell The Others that Jack will never kill Other Ben and that they should go after Kate & Sawyer?? They also said Other Ben would rather die than let Kate & Sawyer go…why?? They said Jack’s not on the list but Kate and Sawyer are…Arg! Either way Other Ben wakes up in the middle of his procedure and promises Icey that he will let her go home if she let’s Sawyer & Kate go which she does after killing Danny.

Now let’s not forget about our friends on the magic island. Apparently Locke has been trained in the corporate ways of diversity & inclusion because he opens up the Mr. Eko hunt to everyone. It’s a great way to address the fact that there are roughly 30 other survivors from oceanic flight 815 that haven’t got to go on cool hatch missions before. I think Locke is a much better leader than Jack and I hope he keeps up the openness. I know people love Mr. Eko but I was kind of getting bored of his story. Maybe death by black smoke was the only way to save this crumbling character that had begun as such a bad ass. Tailgaters…and then there was one…watch out White Bernard! Now that Mr. Eko is dead it’s time to predict the next major death. I’m going with a midseason cliffhanger of…a pretend death. It’s time for the show to make you think someone has died when they really haven’t. 3rd times a charm…no major deaths for a while!

Finally a few points I thought worth mentioning:
– Sawyer drops the funniest line in the entire series on none other than Mac from It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia: “Don’t get mad at me just because you were dumb enough to fall for the old wookie prisoner transfer con gag!!” HA
– I love Slingshot (Frenchy’s daughter) and am willing to bet several Bart Simpson autographed rocks that she doesn’t know Other Ben isn’t her real dad…
– The writers made a huge mistake when Locke says he and Sayid rescued Mr. Eko from the polar bear, when it was he & Charlie!
– Am I really expected to believe Locke & Desmond couldn’t come up with turning on all the TVs on their own? At least this hott girl is smarter than Sticks.

Next up on Finally Lost…we’ll hopefully find out if Other Ben keeps his promise to get Ice Princess & Jack off the island.

5 Responses to “Daddy Said Stay Away From Juliet”


  1. 1 Franny
    December 4, 2009 at 12:45 am

    To borrow one of Sawyer’s favorite lines “Son of a B*tch”….Ben you just indirectly dropped a semi-spoiler on me. I won’t go into detail though…but if anyone who knwos me wants to know, let me know. Also, I’m glad you saw your spot-on predictions come true, when you wrote them I was dying to react.

  2. 3 Brian
    December 4, 2009 at 6:59 am

    The two new people are Nikki and paolo…

    I wouldn’t be so quick to check all your check marks…

    I meant to tell you mac would show up in a season 2 ep…knew you’d enjoy that cameo

    @franny I’m dying to know what you’re talking about?

  3. 4 Brian
    December 4, 2009 at 7:00 am

    Btw, it’s not every lost blogger who can incorporate a Taylor swift song into the episode recap, lol

    • December 4, 2009 at 7:59 am

      Ha, now if only I can incorporate a title with wearing shorts skirts, t-shirts and being the bleachers. Btw good point big Daddy, I might have jumped too early on Sawyer-Freckles. Now that I’ve seen the next 3 episodes I’m fully focused on rooting for the Desmond/Penny couple…I officially heart her.


Leave a Reply

ABOUT THIS BLOG

I have always had a difficult time waiting to find out the ending of my favorite movies, TV shows & books. My resume of obsession includes watching Season 1 of 24 in 3 days, watching Season 2 of 24 in 18 hours and reading each Harry Potter book in one sitting. Knowing that I would love and become obsessed with Lost, I decided to wait before the last season to begin watching it.

This blog will follow me as I watch 5 seasons (103 episodes) of Lost before the final season begins. Relive the experience through me and feel free to mock my terrible theories. Please do not post any spoilers!

Feel free to email me at bigggs@bigwheelbikergang.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

NEW POLL

Finally Lost Every episode for the first time Television Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory

blog search directory

CURRENTLY WATCHING

Visits

  • 29,820 already got lost

Categories


