17
Nov
09

4 8 15 16 23 42

4 8 15 16 23 42

The number’s are finally here! As I’ve said before I know almost nothing about Lost except they eventually get off the island and there may be some alien or government connection with the island. I left out one thing…I kept hearing about numbers (although I didn’t know what they were or their significance). Numbers have arrived in spades. The numbers are on the capsule, 815 is the flight everyone was on, Frenchy’s been on the island for 16 years, Hurley’s pyscho friend got the number message 16 years ago. I’m willing to bet if I re-watch the episodes they will appear everywhere. And is it just me or are the numbers inherently freaky? I haven’t figured out a pattern between the numbers yet but there is something familiar about them. 42 is of course famous because in The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy it is the secret to life, the universe and everything, and there is no question the writers put that in on purpose.

So I’ve received feedback that I haven’t made enough predictions in this blog which I promise is more a result of me having no idea what’s going on as opposed to me being afraid of predicting dumb things. To celebrate the arrival of the numbers I plan on making bold predictions but first I’ve got to talk about Michael, Jin and Hurley…

I got something right!! I KNEW Walt set the raft on fire and I KNEW he was going to pay for being a poor parent. Michael please come to the beach to receive your burnt raft debris as prize for winning the ‘worst father on magic island’ award. Jin we haven’t forgotten about you…we have an ass beating from Sawyer and betrayal in the form of learned English from your wife. What to say about Jin. I was ready to hate him after Sun’s episode and then we learn Jin recognized his mistakes and planned on leaving the business (it also doesn’t hurt that the blood on his hands was a result of SAVING someone’s life). But then Jin breaks my heart (and Sun’s) by leaving her (or by traveling 1 mile to the beach). Jin why didn’t you accept the fresh start..it was right there!! Before moving on to Hurley, it’s worth mentioning that Locke has a super power of knowing exactly how to help everyone. He keeps Walt’s secret (hell he even figured it out), builds Prego a crib, gets Charlie off heroine and even stops Boone from having step-incest with Sticks (Shannon). For his next trick he’s going to open the capsule and use the alien technology to fly the tribe off the island??

I finally understand why people love Hurley and I would like to officially register my man crush on Hurley. Multi-Multi-Millionaire?? I did not see that one coming. It makes the scene where he lost 23 thousand dollars to Walt that much funnier. Once again great writing here, who better to bring in the serious/cursed number plot than the most unserious character on magic island. Hell Charlie wouldn’t even consider the fact that Hurley is a millionaire.

Ok, I’ve stalled for too long. Here come some predictions…I’m going to go with aliens. The capsule is an alien artifact stranded on the island. It somehow pulled The Others boat to the island and made most of them go crazy. The power source was sending off the numbers as a beacon but had the unfortunate affect of making everyone who encountered the numbers go crazy. Frenchy saved us all by switching the beacon to her Mayday signal instead of the crazy aliens. The message wasn’t cancelled in time however and it affected more people than just The Others (like Hurley and his psycho friends). I also think somehow everyone on the island has been affected by the numbers and it somehow got them on the plane and the power of the numbers/magic island saved them so they can complete whatever the aliens need help with (ET go home?). That’s all I got! No help please..save your complete mockery till I catch up in a few weeks!

Next up…um I have no clue…but Prego’s got to have that devil child at some point…

3 Responses to “4 8 15 16 23 42”


  1. November 18, 2009 at 7:12 am

    “I’m willing to bet if I re-watch the episodes they will appear everywhere.”

    You’re right on that one. They constantly appear, especially in the character flashbacks (clocks, apartment numbers, etc).

  2. 2 Kristin
    November 18, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    Aww man this is all making me remember why I love LOST so much! I’m freaking out as I’m sitting here and knowing some of the answers to your questions. The writers put ALOT of thought into this series, especially with all of the references to famous philosophers (Locke and Rousseau), to literary references that bring in story elements (check the titles of things that Sawyer reads). Let me know when you finish season 2 and I have something you should take a look at. There was a summer long “experience” that LOST fans went through to bridge the gap between seasons 2 and 3. It’s very interesting even just from a marketing perspective.

  3. December 7, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    Oh those numbers. You can’t be much of a Lost fan if you don’t have those numbers permanently stuck in your head. There are times when I see the numbers in real life and it stands out to me. You should probably know that the number 108 is important too. It’s the total of all the numbers.
    The writers did a very good job with Jin. They managed to redeem him from the edge of total dislike. But Michael is another story. Try as the might they’ll never get us to fully like him.


Leave a Reply

ABOUT THIS BLOG

I have always had a difficult time waiting to find out the ending of my favorite movies, TV shows & books. My resume of obsession includes watching Season 1 of 24 in 3 days, watching Season 2 of 24 in 18 hours and reading each Harry Potter book in one sitting. Knowing that I would love and become obsessed with Lost, I decided to wait before the last season to begin watching it.

This blog will follow me as I watch 5 seasons (103 episodes) of Lost before the final season begins. Relive the experience through me and feel free to mock my terrible theories. Please do not post any spoilers!

Feel free to email me at bigggs@bigwheelbikergang.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

NEW POLL

Finally Lost Every episode for the first time Television Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory

blog search directory

CURRENTLY WATCHING

Visits

  • 29,820 already got lost

Categories


