16
Nov
09

That’s why the Red Sox will never win the world series

ease his pain

I made mention that this show had great writing before but they went off the charts with the episode Outlaws (my new favorite episode). That was a 16 episode payoff. Sawyer meets who his thinks is the real Sawyer and spares his life. In a twist of fate he meets Jack’s dad in a bar and listens to his tale of how much he loves and admires his son but is too weak to tell him. Jack’s dad then advises Sawyer to complete his business if it will ease his pain. Based on his Red Sox baseball reference and that particular phrasing, I wonder if the writers are giving a nod to Field of Dreams because “ease his pain” was used to help repair a relationship between a dead father and his son who betrayed him. Ironically Sawyer has the opportunity to ease Jack’s pain but like Jack’s father he is too weak to do it. Unfortunately all this phrase does is convinces Sawyer to take revenge on the man who he thinks has ruined his life. Sawyer’s pain is anything but eased when he finds out he killed the wrong man and was setup. Top all this off with the fact that the Red Sox have won the world series while Jack and Sawyer are on the island and you have a writing masterpiece. Sawyer now has quite a lot of power over Jack, it’ll be interesting to see how he uses it…

Now onto a much lighter topic…incest. Boone and Shannon are only step brother and sister and get it on! On one hand it’s disgusting, but on the other hand I’m with the writers here…any reason to put Shannon in situations where her clothes come off is OK with me. We’ve been flirting with creepy disaster since the series began with these two. Every time Boone and Shannon were onscreen together it gave me an uncomfortable feeling, finding out they are step brother/sister dispels some of that tension. I’m glad the writers hung us out there so long. Other than that not much has gone on unless you count the fact that Frenchy was quoting kid’s lyrics on her maps, Prego appears out of thin air with no memory, the tribe surrounds Ethan with guns (how thick was Ethan walking into that trap?) , Charlie kills Ethan and Michael builds an arc. First Ethan. Congratulations, you get the dumb-ass of the blog award! With all your super tracking skills and formidable strength, you fall for an obvious trap with obvious bait. As Death Helmet once said to Lone star..ok I’ll give you the ring back…OH NO you fell for the oldest TRICK man!  And Charlie how could you?? We were 10 minutes of Sahid torture away from finally getting some answers, but you decided to blow that away along with Ethan. I suppose I can’t hate too much, the man tried to hang ya. Is it too soon to decide to track down Frenchy and get some answers?? Why do The Others want Claire?? Who are they??

I’d be remiss if I didn’t comment on Michael’s flashback. Am I now supposed to like him now that I know he was a great father before Walt was born and his baby’s mama was a 2 timing selfish heartless biatch? NO. I still think he’s annoying and not very likable. The fact that he was once a good parent makes me even more mad that he’s a bad dad now. Treat your kid like a person or you never know when it’ll come back to bite ya. P.S. I almost laughed when you got hit by that car…

Finally I need to make a few comments about the show. Much like the tribe I feel pretty lost. I’ve already given my lab island/invisible dino theory but that’s all I got. I’m guessing that all the people in the plane are some how connected although it’s asking a lot of luck from magic island that the right people survived the crash. Maybe everyone was connected and it doesn’t matter who survived? Not sure I buy that. My point is, I don’t have any great theories yet and I’m not sure I have enough info either. When talking to a friend this weekend he kept talking around things and I couldn’t understand anything all I got was…”I have a theory on that…”, “I have an idea on why that is…” and it struck me that I can’t say that at all. I wondering if I’m as thick as Michael or just supposed to be in the dark like Prego…

I’ll give people a week on the poll and then I’ll do a write up on everyone’s favorite character. I’m also taking ideas for any topic if people want to guest blog (why you started watching the show, an entry on how obsessed you are etc.). Next up we get to see if this raft goes anywhere and I’m hoping for a Hurley-centric episode…

6 Responses to “That’s why the Red Sox will never win the world series”


  1. November 16, 2009 at 8:41 am

    Interested in why you say: “Sawyer now has quite a lot of power over Jack right now, it’ll be interesting to see how he uses it…”

    One of your theories in this post is pretty good…

    “Next up we get to see if this raft goes anywhere and I’m hoping for a Hurley centric episode”…what episode # you on? I don’t think you have very long to wait…

    I’m actually impressed at how much you kept yourself in the dark about LOST while it was airing…i would’ve thought you would know some little details about the show before undertaking this marathon, but apparently not…

    • November 16, 2009 at 10:33 pm

      Dude I went out of my way to not learn anything about Lost. And the power Sawyer has over Jack is that he has info that Jack would die to hear. He can erase Jack’s guilt and suffering but so far he has chosen not to. That’s power…

  2. 3 Lyndsi
    November 16, 2009 at 10:43 am

    Simply blogtastic B

  3. November 17, 2009 at 5:32 am

    @Ben: The neat thing about this, is that i’m now remembering things that I had forgotten because they happened 5 seasons ago. To be honest, when I read your recap, I couldn’t remember if Sawyer immediately put 2 and 2 together to realize that Christian was Jack’s Dad. I just looked at an episode recap, and now remember that he did during that episode.

  4. December 7, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    I don’t think the lack of theorizing reflects badly on you. It’s hard to create theories when you know that you’re half blind. When it was first on and we had watched 16 episodes we were happy to create the most ridiculous theories because we knew everything there was to know. Don’t feel bad. And we can hardly criticize your theories, we’ve all had bad theories. I had one I kept promoting for years, it was totally ridiculous (I won’t say what it was about), I was very, very wrong.

  5. February 21, 2013 at 11:11 am

    I distinctly remembered this episode! It was the season premiere of Lost that year (2004) and how really ironic when I caught this episode then and also watched the Red Sox make and epic come from behind win (in both the game and in the series) against the Yankees (of all teams)…and eventually winning the World Series..after what? a hundred years?!? Nways, im like you now…watching all the episodes of Lost (im about third of the way into the 2nd Season)…


Leave a Reply

ABOUT THIS BLOG

I have always had a difficult time waiting to find out the ending of my favorite movies, TV shows & books. My resume of obsession includes watching Season 1 of 24 in 3 days, watching Season 2 of 24 in 18 hours and reading each Harry Potter book in one sitting. Knowing that I would love and become obsessed with Lost, I decided to wait before the last season to begin watching it.

This blog will follow me as I watch 5 seasons (103 episodes) of Lost before the final season begins. Relive the experience through me and feel free to mock my terrible theories. Please do not post any spoilers!

Feel free to email me at bigggs@bigwheelbikergang.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

NEW POLL

Finally Lost Every episode for the first time Television Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory blog search directory

blog search directory

CURRENTLY WATCHING

Visits

  • 29,914 already got lost

Categories


